Showing posts with label tips. Show all posts
Showing posts with label tips. Show all posts

Monday, August 31, 2020

How to Assign a Macro

In this tutorial we are going to explain how you can Assign a Macro to the Command Button in the Microsoft Excel.

To assign a macro (one or more code lines) to the command button, execute the following steps:
  1. Right click CommandButton1 (make sure Design Mode is selected).
  2. Click View Code.

    View Code Image
    View Code
    The Visual Basic Editor appears.

  3. Place your cursor between Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() and End Sub.
  4. Add the code line shown below:
        Range("A1").Value = "Hello"
    
    Add Code Line Image
    Add Code Line
    Note: The window on the left with the name Sheet1 (Sheet1) and ThisWorkbook is called the Project Explorer. If the Project Explorer is not visible, click on View menu and then click on Project Explorer. If the Code window for Sheet1 is not visible, click Sheet1 (Sheet1). You can ignore the Option Explicit statement for now.

  5. Close the Visual Basic Editor.
  6. Click the command button on the sheet (make sure Design Mode is deselected).

Result:

Macro Result Image
Macro Result
Congratulations. You've just created a macro in Excel!



Saturday, August 29, 2020

How to Insert a Command Button

In this tutorial we are going to explain how you can Insert the Command Button in the Microsoft Excel.

To place a command button into your worksheet, execute the following steps:
  1. In the Developer tab, click on Insert option.
  2. In the ActiveX Controls group, click on Command Button.

    Insert Command Button Control Image
    Insert Command Button Control

  3. Drag a command button on your worksheet.


Friday, August 28, 2020

How to Show Developer Tab

In this tutorial we are going to explain how you can turn on the Developer Tab in the Microsoft Excel.

To turn on the Developer tab, execute the following steps.
  1. Right click anywhere on the ribbon, and then click Customize the Ribbon (as shown in the below screenshot).

    Customize Ribbon Image
    Customize Ribbon
    Alternatively, you can go to File Menu then Click on Options and then click on Customize the Ribbon option shown in the left pane of the Excel Options window, the same window will open as shown you in the below image.

  2. Under Customize the Ribbon, on the right side of the dialog box, select Main tabs (if necessary).
  3. Check the Developer check box.

    Turn On Developer Tab Image
    Turn On Developer Tab
  4. Click OK.
  5. You can find the Developer tab next to the View tab.

    Developer Tab Image
    Developer Tab